Boswellia in JointBrex: Frankincense Extract, Dose and Research
Boswellia is a frankincense resin extract. Two JointBrex capsules give 133.3 mg, inside the 100–250 mg a day used in trials. Reviews found modest drops in knee pain and stiffness scores, but results varied widely and studies were small. It seems well tolerated. People on asthma medicine or blood thinners should ask their provider first.
What is the boswellia in JointBrex?
A tree resin extract, and the one ingredient whose dose matches the research.

Boswellia is a resin from the Boswellia serrata tree, also known as Indian frankincense. JointBrex uses an extract of that resin. It is the second largest ingredient on the Supplement Facts panel.
The label lists 133.3 mg per serving of 2 capsules. That is about 67 mg in each capsule.
Frankincense has a long history in incense and traditional remedies. Today it is studied for knee and hip comfort, mostly as a standardized extract.
The label does not say how the extract is standardized. Trial products usually state how much of their active compounds, called boswellic acids, they contain.
- Boswellia serrata
- Indian frankincense
- Resin extract
- 133.3 mg per 2 capsules
- Standardization not stated
How does boswellia get from a tree into a JointBrex capsule?
Four simple steps, and what the label leaves out.
Boswellia starts as sap that seeps from cuts in the tree bark. The steps below show the general path for resin extracts like the one on this label.
- 1
The bark is tapped
Small cuts in the bark let a milky sap seep out and dry in the air.
- 2
Resin hardens
The sap sets into pale amber pieces, often called tears.
- 3
An extract is made
The resin is processed into a concentrated extract powder.
- 4
It goes into capsules
Two JointBrex capsules hold 133.3 mg of that extract, next to the other eight ingredients.
The maker has not published where its resin comes from or how the extract is made. Those are fair questions to ask any seller.
What boswellia dosage for joint pain did studies use, and how does JointBrex compare?
The amount fits the studies. The type of extract is unknown.
Trials pooled in a 2020 review used 100 to 250 mg of boswellia extract a day (Yu et al., 2020). The JointBrex serving of 133.3 mg falls inside that range. This is the only ingredient in the formula that matches its research dose by weight.
Boswellia doses on one scale (bar length = share of 250 mg)
Boswellia doses in research and on the label
| Source | Dose | What it tells you |
|---|---|---|
| Yu et al., 2020 | 100–250 mg extract a day, 7 trials | Covers the range most trials used; authors suggest at least 4 weeks |
| Cameron & Chrubasik, Cochrane 2014 | Enriched extract 100 mg a day | The main boswellia result in the Cochrane review |
| Cameron & Chrubasik, Cochrane 2014 | 250 mg and 999 mg a day | Single studies only, low quality |
| JointBrex | 133.3 mg extract per 2 capsules | Inside the range by weight; standardization not stated |

Ready to try JointBrex?
Best value$49 a bottle · $294 for 6
Does boswellia work for knee pain and stiff joints?
Promising, with real limits.
Boswellia shows a modest benefit in small trials, but the evidence is not strong. A 2020 review of 7 trials with 545 people found lower pain, stiffness and function scores than control (Yu et al., 2020). The results varied a lot from study to study.
What the main boswellia reviews say
| Review | What it found | The catch |
|---|---|---|
| Yu et al., 2020 | Pain on a 0–100 scale fell about 8 points more than control; WOMAC pain about 14, stiffness about 10, function about 11 | Very high differences between trials (I² 93–99%); several trials at high or unclear risk of bias |
| Cameron & Chrubasik, Cochrane 2014 | Enriched extract cut pain by 17 points and improved function by 8 points | Based on few studies; the review looked at many herbs |
| NCCIH Osteoarthritis: In Depth | Boswellia may give slight gains in pain and function | Gains may be too small for patients to notice |
| NCCIH Boswellia, 2025 | May help reduce osteoarthritis pain and inflammation | Larger, higher-quality studies are needed |
Put simply, boswellia is one of the more promising herbs for stiff knees. It is not proven, and no trial has tested it inside the full JointBrex formula.
What looks good
- Dose matches the trial range by weight
- Several trials point the same way on pain and stiffness
- Side effects were not more common than control
What holds it back
- Trial results differ widely from one another
- Some trials had weak methods
- The label does not state boswellic acid content
What do doctors' guidelines say about boswellia and JointBrex?
Not rated, not rejected.
The main U.S. arthritis guideline did not rate boswellia at all. The 2019 ACR/Arthritis Foundation guideline left out most supplements, so boswellia and turmeric were not assessed (ACR/Arthritis Foundation guideline, 2019). The 2026 update summary also does not mention boswellia (ACR OA guideline update summary, 2026).
That same guideline strongly recommends against glucosamine and chondroitin, the two other main JointBrex ingredients. It strongly recommends exercise for everyone with osteoarthritis. You can read more in our joint pain guide.
- Boswellia was not assessed in the 2019 ACR guidelineNot rated
- Boswellia is not named in the 2026 ACR update summaryNot rated
- NCCIH says it may help, but better studies are neededMixed
- Exercise and weight loss are strongly recommendedStrong
Is boswellia safe? Side effects and who should check first
Generally well tolerated, with two medicine checks.
Boswellia seems well tolerated by most adults. NCCIH says it is likely safe taken by mouth (NCCIH Boswellia, 2025). MSK calls it generally well tolerated (MSKCC About Herbs: Boswellia, 2026), and pooled trials found no clear difference in side effects versus control (Yu et al., 2020).
Boswellia and capsule cautions
| Caution | What to know | Source |
|---|---|---|
| Asthma medicine | People who take asthma medicine should talk to their provider first | NCCIH Boswellia, 2025 |
| Blood thinners | May increase bleeding risk with anticoagulant or antiplatelet drugs; how much is not yet known | MSKCC About Herbs: Boswellia, 2026 |
| Pregnancy, nursing, under 18 | The JointBrex label says not for these groups | Label |
| Shellfish allergy | Not from boswellia, but the capsules contain crustacean shellfish | Label |
The full list for all nine ingredients is on the JointBrex side effects page.
How long should you try the boswellia in JointBrex?
Four weeks to judge, sixty days to decide.
Give it at least 4 weeks before you judge it. The authors of the 2020 review suggest at least 4 weeks of use (Yu et al., 2020). The JointBrex refund terms ask for at least 30 days of use, inside a 60-day window from purchase.
- Day 1
Start
Take 2 capsules before a meal, as the label says. Note how stairs or a morning walk feel.
- Day 28
Four weeks
The point the 2020 review authors suggest as a minimum trial.
- Day 30
One bottle done
The refund terms ask for at least 30 days of use first.
- Day 60
Window closes
Decide by now if you want to ask for a refund.
A short daily note helps. Write down one task, such as gardening or a flight of stairs, and rate it each week. See the 60-day money-back window for how refunds work.
How does boswellia fit with the other JointBrex ingredients?
The strongest dose match on the label.
Boswellia is one of nine ingredients, and it is the one with the best match between dose and research. The others are at very different points.
Boswellia next to the rest of the JointBrex label
| Ingredient | Amount | How it compares with research |
|---|---|---|
| Glucosamine sulfate | 1,000 mg | Below the 1,500 mg used in most trials |
| Boswellia extract | 133.3 mg | Inside the 100–250 mg range |
| Chondroitin sulfate | 100 mg | Far below the 800–1,200 mg in trials |
| Turmeric root | 100 mg | Plain root, much less than curcumin extracts in trials |
| Quercetin, methionine, MSM, bromelain | 16.7 mg each | Tiny amounts |
The label claim reads: "For Pain Relief from Muscle & Joint Injuries*" *These statements have not been evaluated by the Food and Drug Administration. This product is not intended to diagnose, treat, cure, or prevent any disease. That wording is the brand's. It is not a promise from us, and it is not proof that the formula relieves injuries.
See every ingredient side by side on the JointBrex ingredients page.
Boswellia questions
Does boswellia work for joint pain?
It may help a little, but the proof is not solid yet. Pooled trials found lower pain and stiffness scores than control (Yu et al., 2020), yet the results varied widely between studies. NCCIH says larger, better studies are needed (NCCIH Boswellia, 2025).
What is the boswellia dosage for joint pain?
Most trials used 100 to 250 mg of extract a day. The pooled review by Yu and colleagues covered that range (Yu et al., 2020). Two JointBrex capsules give 133.3 mg, which sits inside it.
Is boswellia safe to take every day?
For most adults it appears to be. NCCIH says oral boswellia is likely safe (NCCIH Boswellia, 2025), and trials found no more side effects than control. Long-term safety data are thin, so tell your doctor you take it.
Is boswellia an anti-inflammatory?
Researchers study it for that reason. NCCIH says oral boswellia may help reduce osteoarthritis pain and inflammation, but it calls for better studies (NCCIH Boswellia, 2025). It is not a replacement for a medicine your doctor prescribed.
Is boswellia good for knee pain?
Most boswellia trials were done in people with knee osteoarthritis. They showed modest gains in pain and function on average. Some trials had a high or unclear risk of bias, so treat the results as promising, not proven.
Is boswellia safe for your liver?
The sources we checked do not flag boswellia as a liver risk. NCCIH also notes that little safety information exists for herbs like boswellia (NCCIH Osteoarthritis: In Depth). If you have liver disease, ask your doctor before any herbal supplement.
Is boswellia safe for kidneys?
The sources we use do not report kidney problems with boswellia. That does not prove it is safe for people with kidney disease, because few studies looked. Ask your doctor first if your kidneys need monitoring.
Is boswellia safe during pregnancy?
Safety in pregnancy has not been shown. The JointBrex label says the product is not for pregnant or nursing women or anyone under 18. Wait until after pregnancy and breastfeeding.
Can I take boswellia with asthma medicine?
Talk to your provider first. NCCIH says people who take asthma medicine should check before using boswellia (NCCIH Boswellia, 2025). Bring the JointBrex bottle so they can see the full label.
What are the side effects of boswellia?
Side effects in trials were uncommon and not more frequent than with control (Yu et al., 2020). MSK notes it may raise bleeding risk with blood thinners (MSKCC About Herbs: Boswellia, 2026). Stop and call a doctor if anything unusual happens.
Ready to try JointBrex?
Order from the U.S. authorized merchant, keep your order email, and you are covered by the 60-day money-back guarantee. Questions first? Call +1 (302) 200-3480.
- Secure checkout
- 60-day money-back window
- Ships from the US
- Tracking by email

Keep reading
Ingredients
All eight label ingredients with amounts, the shellfish line and how each dose compares with research.
Read more →Turmeric
100 mg of plain root, far below curcumin trial doses. Liver, warfarin and gallbladder cautions.
Read more →Side effects
Every JointBrex caution in one place: stomach, shellfish, blood thinners, blood sugar, liver, stop signs.
Read more →